Dusting ‘Em Off: My Chemical Romance – Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge

I really wanted to share this. These guys were my hero’s, my gods, MY ACDC, MY Led Zeppelin. These guys got me through the toughest parts of my life, and I still listen to them regularly 10 years later. This band is really worth giving a shot!

Consequence of Sound

For this edition of Dusting ‘Em Off, CoS staffers Megan Ritt, Dominick Mayer, Killian Young, and Dusty Henry re-channel their teenage angst and don black marching band uniforms and plenty of guyliner as they aim to put My Chemical Romance’s sophomore album, Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge, in perspective a decade later. (FYI: Former staff writer Winston Robbins also took a stab at the album four years ago, which you can revisit here.)

Megan Ritt: My Chemical Romance is a hard band to dust off in some ways. Nowadays when you think of them, the image that comes to mind is all-black marching band uniforms and excess eyeliner. But Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge was a really important record for me when it came out, and it’s worth re-exploring if only to clear away the intervening haze.

The unique thing about Three Cheers was the sound: It was…

View original post 2,011 more words

Leave A Comment!

