Three Songs That Are Important To Me

Music is a huge part of my life, I have cried to it, danced to it, slept to it, and partied my butt off to it. It has been there for the good and the bad, the ups and the downs, and if I don’t like something I just choose I different song. There is always a song for a mood I am in, and I have songs I relate to so deeply they give me goosebumps. So here I am going to write about three songs that bring out really strong emotions in me, and that I have really connected with.

3. Fallen Angels – Black Veil Brides.

This song always reminded me of how I just wanted to be myself. I was always the weird one, I grew up in an area with a lot of people who were into rap, and hip hop, and the girls were all girly and the guys all wanted to be gangsters. Me on the other hand just wanted to be me. I like my rock, emo, screamo, and hardcore music, I like piercings and tattoos. I like the fact I was different, I never wanted to follow anyone, I wanted to be me and I wanted to be different and this song reminds me of that such as these words:

We’re bored to death in heaven
And all alone in hell
We only want to be ourselves

We scream (we scream), we shout (we shout)
We are the fallen angels
We scream (we scream)
We shout, whoa-oh, whoa-oh-oh-oh

Also other lyrics just remind me of how I felt. At that point I had no friends, felt like no one understood me, I was different and no one was accepting of that, and I said you know what, you don’t like me for who I am, then I’m not changing to be who you want me to be, so some lyrics remind me of how alone I was, but I stayed strong because growing up I was always told to be a leader and not a follower, and I will follow that advice for the rest of my life and these words remind me of that:

Follow the mourning star, a light when darkness fell
The passion left unholy, now you find yourself,
We have nowhere to go, no one to wish us well,
A cry to find our home, our stories they will tell

As well as:
To those who sing alone, no need to feel the sorrow,
We scream (we scream) we shout whoa,
We are the fallen angels

Songs like this helped me make it through middle school and high school in one piece, they helped me stay strong, believe in myself, and never forget who I am.

 

2. SING – My Chemical Romance

This is a really, really powerful song for me. My whole life I loved singing, I’m not saying I am good, nor am I saying I am bad, but it is something I love, something I always have loved. I sing whenever I can, I live with my Mom and boyfriend in a small apartment so sometimes I go into the bathroom and just sing for an hour or two. I really enjoy it and this song reminds me to follow my dreams. These are some of the lyrics that really mean something to me:

Sing it out, boy they’re gonna sell what tomorrow means
Sing it out, girl before they kill what tomorrow brings
You’ve got to make a choice
If the music drowns you out
And raise your voice
Every single time they try and shut your mouth

Sing it for the boys
Sing it for the girls
Every time that you lose it sing it for the world
Sing it from the heart
Sing it till you’re nuts
Sing it out for the ones that’ll hate your guts
Sing it for the deaf
Sing it for the blind
Sing about everyone that you left behind
Sing it for the world
Sing it for the world

I really love the words “Sing it out for the ones that’ll hate your guts” and “Sing about everyone that you left behind” because it reminds me of everyone who made fun of me, and beat me up and treated me like complete crap because I was different and everything I sing I just think about how they just made me a better and much stronger person, and it just cemented my belief in who I am. I wouldn’t be who I am today if it wasn’t for them, and for that I thank all them.

My Chemical Romance was a band that helped me get through a lot of shit growing up, lot’s and lot’s of shit. Their music got me through some of my strongest and most horrible emotions I have ever experienced and I am so grateful I had their music to sit into my room and scream/sing while crying and getting all my emotions out. It killed me when they broke up, I had a few years of mistakes, and when everything was sorted out, I found out the broke up a year before, and because they were such a big part of my life from about 12 on, I feel like some door has closed on my life, and it really upset me, not so much the band breaking up, just feeling like it cemented and underlined the fact that, that part of my life is over, done, and gone, and it just kind of hurt.

1. Jack Johnson – Better together

This is the number one song. This song has become me and my boyfriends song. Sometimes he turns in on and sings it to me, the words are so sweet, and the song in itself sounds amazing. It makes me so happy to listen to it, and makes me thing about all of the positive and great things to come, things aren’t always going to be perfect but he got tons of memories and the little things, like shoe boxes of photographs to look forward to, and in my opinion those things are more important that buying a house or a car or anything else. It’s the little things that truly do count. These are some of my favourite lyrics from the song:

There is no combination of words I could put on the back of a postcard
No song that I could sing, but I can try for your heart
Our dreams, and they are made out of real things
Like a, shoebox of photographs
With sepia-toned loving
Love is the answer,
At least for most of the questions in my heart
Like why are we here? And where do we go?
And how come it’s so hard?
It’s not always easy and
Sometimes life can be deceiving
I’ll tell you one thing, it’s always better when we’re together

Mmm, it’s always better when we’re together
Yeah, we’ll look at the stars when we’re together
Well, it’s always better when we’re together
Yeah, it’s always better when we’re together

And these words too:

I believe in memories
They look so, so pretty when I sleep
Hey now, and when I wake up,
You look so pretty sleeping next to me
But there is not enough time,
And there is no, no song I could sing
And there is no combination of words I could say
But I will still tell you one thing
We’re better together.

 

I love when my boyfriend sings this song to me, sometimes when I lay next to him he starts singing it sometimes and we just hold each other and sing it together and look into each others eyes and smile seeing all the love and passion and conveying it to each other with just a look, and that my friends, is the best little thing of all.

Always Better When Were Together <3

Jack Johnson – Better Together:

My Chemical Romance – SING:

Black Veil Brides – Fallen Angels:

This is something I am doing in response to the Writing 101 Challenge Day 3.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_assignment/writing-101-day-three/

*All the lyrics are owned and property of the band they are listed under.*

Leave A Comment!

